MLB 2021 Season Preview

The 2021 Major League Baseball season is planned to begin on April 1 and end on October 3. The 91st All-Star Game is scheduled to be played on July 13 at Truist Park in Atlanta, Georgia. The World Series is scheduled to begin on October 26 and a potential Game 7 is scheduled for November 3. The entire schedule was released on July 9, 2020.

The schedule is planned to return to a full 162-game format. The interleague play matchups will be the same from the revised 2020 schedule and will be AL East vs NL East, AL Central Vs NL Central, and AL West vs NL West.

Major League Baseball on Thursday announced its master 2021 Major League regular season schedule, which will begin with all 30 Major League Clubs playing on Thursday, April 1. The 2021 season will mark the fourth consecutive season in which all 30 Clubs are scheduled to play on traditional Opening Day (including 2020’s original regular-season schedule), and Opening Day of the 2021 campaign could also become the first season since 1968 in which every team across the Majors plays their first game of the season on the same day.

Opening Day will feature 10 divisional match-ups among the 15 games in addition to three Interleague contests, featuring the Tampa Bay Rays at the Miami Marlins, the Minnesota Twins visiting the Milwaukee Brewers and the San Francisco Giants at the Seattle Mariners. Six games are scheduled for Friday, April 2nd, a full slate of 15 games will be played on Saturday, April 3rd, and Sunday April 4th will include 13 contests.
Interleague Play throughout the season will feature the AL East vs. NL East, AL Central vs. NL Central and AL West vs. NL West. The New York Mets will host the New York Yankees at Citi Field from September 10th-12th, marking the first time the New York franchises will play each other on September 11th as MLB observes its 20th anniversary. The two teams will also square off earlier in the season at Yankee Stadium during Fourth of July weekend.

In addition, other highlights of the 2021 schedule include:

• The Los Angeles Dodgers will begin their home schedule with a three-game series against the Washington Nationals from April 9-11, a rematch of their five-game National League Division Series in 2019.

• The Atlanta Braves will host the St. Louis Cardinals for four games across Father’s Day weekend from June 17-20, a rematch of their five-game National League Division Series in 2019.

• The 91st All-Star Game on Tuesday, July 13 at Truist Park in Atlanta, the ballpark’s first Midsummer Classic and the first to be played in Atlanta since 2000 at Turner Field.

• The final day of the 2021 regular season on Sunday, Oct. 3, featuring 12 divisional games.


American League

East Division

  • Baltimore Orioles
  • New York Yankees
  • Tampa Bay Rays
  • Toronto Blue Jays
  • Boston Red Sox

Central Division

  • Chicago White Sox
  • Cleveland Indians
  • Detroit Tigers
  • Kansas City Royals
  • Minnesota Twins

West Division

  • L.A. Angels of Anaheim
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Oakland Athletics
  • Texas Rangers

National League

East Division

  • Atlanta Braves
  • Florida Marlins
  • New York Mets
  • Philadelphia Phillies
  • Washington Nationals

Central Division

  • Chicago Cubs
  • Cincinnati Reds
  • Houston Astros
  • St. Louis Cardinals
  • Milwaukee Brewers
  • Pittsburgh Pirates

West Division

  • Arizona Diamondbacks
  • San Francisco Giants
  • Los Angeles Dodgers
  • San Diego Padres
  • Colorado Rockies



600 Home Runs

  • Alex Rodriguez: 17

500 Home Runs

  • Carlos Delgado: 27

400 Home Runs

  • Andruw Jones: 12
  • Albert Pujols: 34

300 Home Runs

  • Derrek Lee: 7
  • Alfonso Soriano: 10
  • Garret Anderson: 15
  • Miguel Tejada: 15
  • Scott Rolen: 17
  • Magglio Ordonez: 23
  • Carlos Beltrán: 27

1500 Runs Batted In

  • Chipper Jones: 55

1000 Runs Batted In

  • Johnny Damon: 4
  • Jorge Posada: 56
  • Aramis Ramirez: 54

500 Doubles

  • Bobby Abreu: 17
  • Carlos Delgado: 17
  • Chipper Jones: 28
  • Gary Sheffield: 33

100 Triples

  • Johnny Damon: 5
  • Jimmy Rollins: 5
  • Carl Crawford: 8


200 Wins

  • Tim Wakefield: 11

150 Wins

  • Roy Halladay: 2
  • Tim Hudson: 2
  • Mike Hampton: 2
  • Javier Vazquez: 8
  • Derek Lowe: 9
  • Roy Oswalt: 13
  • CC Sabathia: 14
  • Mark Buehrle: 15
  • Jeff Suppan: 15

100 Wins

  • Jeff Weaver: 1
  • Vicente Padilla: 2
  • Jake Peavy: 5
  • Jason Marquis: 6
  • Doug Davis: 10
  • Cliff Lee: 10
  • Ryan Dempster: 13
  • Joel Pineiro: 13
  • Brandon Webb: 13

600 Saves

  • Trevor Hoffman: 9

550 Saves

  • Mariano Rivera: 24

250 Saves

  • Joe Nathan: 3
  • Francisco Rodríguez: 7

200 Saves

  • Brad Lidge: 5
  • Brian Fuentes: 37
  • Jonathan Papelbon: 49

150 Saves

  • Huston Street: 21

100 Saves

  • Joakim Soria: 11
  • Kerry Wood: 46


The 2017 season will mark the first full season in the USA for baseball games to be telecast in the digital format. The national telecast breakdown is as follows, along with the maximum number of appearances per team:

  • FOX: Saturday afternoon Game of the Week on a regional basis; nine appearances per team.
  • ESPN/ESPN2: Sunday Night Baseball on a weekly basis; five appearances per team.
  • TBS: Sunday afternoon games starting on April 11; 13 appearances per team. In addition, the network will carry the announcement of the All-Star Teams in the National and American Leagues on July 4 as well as the Division Series and the ALCS as per the alternating contract with FOX.
  • MLB Network: The network will again air a weekly Thursday Night Game of the Week and Saturday Night Game of the Week.


2008 All Star Game Odds