2017 All Star Baseball Game

The 2019 Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be the 90th Major League Baseball All-Star Game. The game will be hosted by the Cleveland Indians and will be played at Progressive Field on July 9, 2019.

The decision to name Cleveland the host city was announced on January 27, 2017 by Major League Baseball Commissioner Rob Manfred. It will be the sixth All-Star Game in Cleveland, and the first since 1997; this will establish the Indians as the team to have hosted the most All-Star Games, breaking a four-way tie with the Pittsburgh Pirates, St. Louis Cardinals, and Cincinnati Reds, who have each hosted the game five times. It is also the first time since 2014 that an American League team has hosted the event. This All-Star Game will also coincide with the 25th anniversary of Progressive Field and make it the second All-Star Game hosted by that ballpark. Alex Cora of the defending World Series champion Boston Red Sox will manage the American League, and Dave Roberts of the Los Angeles Dodgers will manage the National League for the second consecutive year.

Bidding for the 2019 All-Star Game began roughly five years before in 2014, according to Indians owner Paul Dolan. The selection of Cleveland to host the 2019 All-Star Game was heavily influenced by two major factors. The first involves recent improvement and growth throughout downtown Cleveland. The second factor is the recent success enjoyed by the Indians which culminated in an appearance in the 2016 World Series. Though the Indians fell to the Chicago Cubs in seven games that year, Commissioner Manfred spoke highly of the city and its response to the World Series, stating that, "Cleveland's a baseball town and it will be a great host for the Midsummer Classic." Recent renovations and improvements in Progressive Field also influenced the decision to name the ballpark as the All-Star Game host for the second time. Estimates place the economic benefit Cleveland will see as the event's host city in the range of $60-65 million.




The host city was announced on April 6, 2015, by Major League Baseball Commissioner Rob Manfred; it was the fifth All-Star Game in Washington, D.C., and the first since 1969, when the second Washington Senators hosted. It was also the first time that the Nationals had hosted the All-Star Game, and the first time that the Nationals franchise had hosted it since 1982, when the franchise played as the Montreal Expos.

The two leagues came into the game with identical 43–43–2 records and both had scored exactly 361 runs each in All-Star Game history. The game also broke a home run record, as ten home runs were hit in the game; the previous record being six. All but one run was scored by way of a home run. This is the second consecutive game the AL has won in the 10th inning.

The national rating for the game was 5.2, down from 6.5 in 2017.


Balloting began on June 1 and ended on July 5. As in previous games, the top vote-getters at each position will be the selected starters for their respective positions, barring any suspensions, injuries or other issues. The reserve players are picked in a more convoluted way involving fan votes, players, and Commissioner's Office. For the fourth year, voting was conducted online exclusively. The results were announced on July 8.

After the rosters were finalized, a second ballot of five players per league was created for the All-Star Final Vote to determine the 32nd and final player of each roster. The online balloting was conducted from July 8 through July 11. The winners of the All-Star Final Vote were Jean Segura of the American League's Seattle Mariners and Jesús Aguilar of the National League's Milwaukee Brewers.



8 - 6


(0 - 1) (1 - 0)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 R H E
NL All-Stars; 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 3 0 3 8 13 0
AL All-Stars 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 1 6 7 1

2008 All Star Game Odds